Buntús Start, Buntús Play and Multi Sport and Buntús Sport Specific are exciting programmes developed to support teachers and other adults in introducing young people of primary school age to sport and to develop their interest in activity.

The three key components of the programme – training, resource cards and equipment – are designed to provide easy to understand, and accessible support to give children a fun, but high quality, introduction to sport.

The Buntús programme co-ordinated nationally by the Irish Sports Council and will be delivered locally by Louth Local Sports Partnership.

Buntús Play & Multi Sport

Buntús Play & Multi Sport complements the games strand of the Physical Education curriculum in Primary schools. The Games strand is one of six strands to the curriculum.

Buntús Play is specifically for children aged 4-9 years old and involves development of fundamental motor skills.

Buntús Multi-Sport which caters for 7-11 year olds and focuses on invasion games and net/wall games.

scoil eoin baiste buntus 5 1Schools and teachers need to complete Buntús training on how to use the resource cards and equipment in their school in order to access the equipment. This training is a critical part of the programme.

The programme seeks to:

  • Raise the profile of physical education and sport.
  • Improve in-service training opportunities for teachers.
  • Provide enjoyable and meaningful activity for children.
  • Support delivery of the National Curriculum.

Schools in Louth who have completed the Buntús training to date are:

  • Abacas School
  • Ardee Educate Together N.S.
  • Aston Village Educate Together N.S.
  • Ballapousta N.S.
  • C.B.S. Primary, Dundalk
  • Callystown N.S.
  • Castletown Girls N.S.
  • Collon N.S.
  • Dulargy N.S.
  • Dun Dealgan N.S.
  • Dundalk Grammar Junior School
  • Le Cheile Educate Together
  • Louth N.S.
  • Marymount N.S.
  • Monksland N.S.
  • Muire Na Gael N.S.
  • Mullaghbuoy N.S., Riverstown
  • Presentation Girls N.S.
  • Realt Na Mara
  • Redeemer Girls N.S.
  • Scoil Aonghusa
  • Scoil Bhride, Dunleer
  • Scoil Eoin Baiste
  • Scoil Mhuire Fatima
  • Scoil Mhuire Na Trocaire
  • Scoil Naomh Bhride
  • Scoil Naomh BridScoil
  • Naomh Feichin
  • Scoil Naomh Lorcan
  • Scoil Naomh Mhuire
  • Scoil Phádraig Naofa, Kilcurry
  • Scoil San Nicholas
  • St. Brigids
  • St. Brigid’s Junior School
  • St. Colmcilles N.S.
  • St. Finian’s N.S.
  • St. Francis N.S.
  • St. Fursey’s N.S.
  • St. Ita’s Special School
  • St. John’s N.S.
  • St. Joseph’s N.S.
  • St. Malachy’s Girls N.S.
  • St. Mary’s B.N.S.
  • St. Nicholas N.S.
  • St. Oliver Plunkett N.S.
  • St. Olivers
  • St. Patrick’s N.S., Monasterboice
  • St. Patricks’s B.N.S.
  • St. Paul’s N.S.
  • St. Peter’s N.S.
  • St. Peter’s N.S.
  • Stonetown N.S.
  • Tallanstown N.S.
  • Tullyallen N.S.
  • Walshestown N.S.